Innovation Fund 2015 / 2016 Recipients Announced!

We are so very pleased to announce this year’s Innovation Fund recipients!

The Innovation Fund is a partnership between the district, the Irvington Education Foundation, Sunnyside Federal Bank and an anonymous donor.
Students submitted their Grant Applications on November 10th. After careful review we awarded eight grants.
1. Student Art Initiative Murals Grant submitted by Rebecca Mesonjnik, Sidney Cuff, Julia Herceg, Sophia Vatakis
-Collaboration of art club members to create murals representing literary imagery and quotes.
2. Festival of One Act Plays submitted by Clara Montgomery and the Theater Troupe
–Theater Troupe will hold a one-act festival of plays representing both published and student written plays.
3. Sandy Hook Promise submitted by Daniel DeMatteo
-Provide timely education and awareness for students to prevent gun violence in school and our community.
4. Environmental Education and Clean Up submitted by Julia Sabatino
-Educate students and the community on the importance of preserving local nature and promote this idea through specific clean up days at Halsey Pond.
5. Geotagging Environmental Project submitted by Sydney Cuff
-Set up a Quick Response smart tag system at a local 1 mile long hiking Tree Trail (Also developed by Cuff) so that hikers can access tree information on their smart phone or tablet.
6. Environmental Club Marker Recycling submitted by Cleo Davidowitz and the Environmental Club
-Collection program for recycling used Crayola markers.
7 Youth Gender Equality Conference submitted by Zachary Gallin
-Create a much needed larger community for gender equality groups and clubs in area high schools.
8.Robotics Club submitted by Justin Tunis and Mikhail Dorokhov
-Provide robotics program that educates, offers support and also supplies tools and materials.